The Habitat Lounge: 129 Smith Street, Fitzroy 3065

For my 20th birthday recently, I wanted to host 20 of my closest friends for some delicious cocktails/drinks/nibbles in an elegant space where we could sit down and have a much-needed catch up.

I wasn’t quite sure I would be able to find a venue that would accommodate us all and be exactly the type of space I desired until I stumbled across the stunning ‘Habitat Lounge’ on Broadsheet.

Dim lighting, stylish marble tables, and an impressive bar and ample lounge area – it was clear from the photos online that the Habitat Lounge was the perfect venue.

The extensive cocktail menu was perfect, with names including ‘My Sweet Josephine’ and ‘Fig and Cinnamon Sidecar’, I was sure that my guests would find something to suit their own individual tastes with such an abundance of unique choices.

Habitat owner, Grant, was extremely pleasant to deal with, and keen to assist me with my enquiry from the get go. We arranged all of the details and it was clear to me that he was almost as excited about the event as I was.

Upon walking into the venue, Habitat was just as I wanted: A small and intimate space with great music that created a warm and welcoming environment. The bar staff were friendly and helpful, delivering the cocktails to our tables, meaning we did not have to wait at the bar.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 7.49.15 pm

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 7.49.28 pm

Some of my friends ordered pizzas, which looked absolutely delicious, and they were all gone in a matter of seconds – clearly a very good indicator of the quality!

I had the ‘My Sweet Josephine’ cocktail to begin which was strawberry based, with lemon, sugar and egg white with an orange wedge on top. It was just divine, a magnificent way to kick off the evening.

My second cocktail was the ‘Salted Caramel Margarita’, which was a blend of Espolon Resposado, caramel and citrus, topped with a house made shard of salted caramel. Didn’t think perfection could ever be achieved in one glass? Think again! This cocktail was so different to anything I have ever tried in my life and I appreciated the variety of flavours, salted caramel is of course, becoming vastly more popular.

Overall, we all had a lovely experience at Habitat and I cannot wait to return to the venue very soon. I am very keen to try their happy hour on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays between 5pm and 7pm with food and drink specials and throwback tunes from the 80’s and 90’s – what could be better?

I recommend this venue for your next date night or upcoming intimate catch-up with friends!

My friends all commented how impressed they were with the venue, calling it an ‘elegant space that oozed sophistication’. Needless to say, I was thrilled with this summary!

I recommend Habitat Lounge for your next intimate event, a quiet drink with your partner or your next after-work drinks.

Leave a Reply

